US House committee adopts resolution in support of Taiwan election

The Committee on Foreign Affairs under the U.S. House of Representatives Wednesday adopted a resolution in support of Taiwan's upcoming presidential election, according to the Central News Agency Thursday.
The resolution, which will be forwarded to the House for consideration, calls for the U.S. government to reaffirm its commitment to Taiwan's democracy and security and for encouragement of international delegations to visit Taiwan to observe the March 22 election -- the fourth direct presidential election to be held in Taiwan.
The resolution pointes out that Taiwan has made dramatic improvement in its human rights record and routinely holds free and fair elections in a multi-party system.
In particular, the 2000 presidential election marked the first transfer of power from one political party to another in Taiwan's history, it says.
The resolution was jointly initiated by the late committee chairman Tom Lantos, who died Feb. 11, and vice chairwoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen. It was co-sponsored by more than 40 representatives.
Taiwan's representative to the United States, Joseph Wu, said the passage of the resolution highlighted the importance attached by the U.S. Congress to Taiwan-U.S. relations and its support for Taiwan people's pursuit of democracy and freedom.
Wu said he is confident Taiwan's relations with the United States will grow even closer and stronger in the future with the firm backing of its large number of friends in the U.S. Congress.
Meanwhile, Bob Yang, president of the Formosan Association for
Public Affairs, a pro-independence Taiwanese expatriate group based in the United States, said the next presidential election in Taiwan is critical to the island's future development and that the referendums on the UN membership bid further elevate the importance of the election.
FAPA hopes the Bush administration would also ignore China's opposition and support Taiwan's attempt to gain UN membership, Yang said.

Updated : 2021-02-25 13:50 GMT+08:00