• Directory of Taiwan

Students from Myanmar now allowed to enter Taiwan

'New students seeking degree' arriving from 19 countries, regions now permitted to begin studies in Taiwan

Students from Myanmar now allowed to enter Taiwan

(CNA photo)

TAIPEI (Taiwan News) — Myanmar is the latest country whose students are permitted to come to Taiwan to attend university, the Ministry of Education (MOE) announced Wednesday (July 15).

The MOE had already decided to allow students from 18 countries or regions at low- to medium-risk for the Wuhan coronavirus to enter Taiwan for the new academic year, which begins July 22. The Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) added Myanmar to this list on Wednesday.

Following the CECC step, MOE announced that students from Myanmar are now allowed to enter for study. In addition, the statuses of newly arrived students who are eligible to start fall semester classes have been expanded from “graduating students” and “students seeking a degree” to include “new students seeking a degree.”

The ministry said that as of Tuesday (July 14), it has approved the entry applications of 342 foreign students, 284 of whom have already arrived.

Taiwanese universities have opened their doors to arriving students from the following 19 countries or regions: Vietnam, Hong Kong, Macao, Thailand, Palau, Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Fiji, Mongolia, Bhutan, Laos, Cambodia, Malaysia, Singapore, Japan, Korea, Sri Lanka, and Myanmar.

Updated : 2021-10-22 08:51 GMT+08:00