SAfrica wins toss and bats; Sri Lanka chases historic win

PORT ELIZABETH, South Africa (AP) — South Africa captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and chose to bat in the second and final test on Thursday as Sri Lanka chases an historic series win.

Sri Lanka needs just a draw in Port Elizabeth to become the first Asian team to win a series in South Africa. Even India and Pakistan haven't achieved the feat.

Sri Lanka won the series opener by one wicket after Kusal Perera's 153 not out and a last-wicket partnership of 78 saw the tourists chase down 304 for a remarkable victory. The victory by an inexperienced Sri Lanka team, which had two debutants and a new captain, came against all expectations.

Sri Lanka retained the same team that surprised everyone to win in Durban under new skipper Dimuth Karunaratne. First-test hero Perera bats at No. 5.

South Africa made one change, bringing in allrounder Wiaan Mulder for his debut in place of seam bowler Vernon Philander, who hasn't recovered from the left hamstring injury that sidelined him for the last day of the first test.

South Africa hasn't lost a series at home since it was beaten by England in early 2016. Sri Lanka's win in Durban ended a run of seven straight home series wins for the South Africans.



South Africa: Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Duanne Olivier.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando.


More AP Cricket: and