S. Africa wins toss in 3rd test, seeks whitewash of Pakistan

JOHANNESBURG (AP) — South Africa's stand-in captain Dean Elgar won the toss and chose to bat first in the final test against Pakistan on Friday as the home side chases a 3-0 whitewash.

Elgar captains at the Wanderers in Johannesburg in place of Faf du Plessis, who is serving a one-match ban for slow over rate offenses in the first two tests.

Du Plessis' absence also opens a place for batsman Zubayr Hamza to make his test debut. South Africa retained its four-pronged pace-bowling attack of Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada and Duanne Olivier, who have been instrumental in South Africa's dominance of the series.

Pakistan made three changes to its team, bolstering batting and bowling with allrounders Shadab Khan and Faheem Ashraf coming into the team. Seam bowler Hasan Ali is also recalled. The inclusion of those three gives captain Sarfraz Ahmed five bowling options along with front-line fast bowlers Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Abbas.



South Africa: Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar (captain), Hashim Amla, Theunis de Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Duanne Olivier.

Pakistan: Imam ul-Haq, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Abbas.