Thailand extends visa fee waiver for Taiwanese tourists

Taiwanese spared 2,000 baht tourist tax until April 30


(CNA photo)

TAIPEI (Taiwan News) – The visa fee waiver for Taiwanese tourists and travelers from 20 other countries has been extended by the Thai cabinet until April 30.

The fee waiver was extended to help promote tourism and allows travelers to stay in Thailand for 15 days.

The 2,000 baht (NT$1,930) fee was first waived between Dec. 1, 2019, and Jan. 31, 2019, in an effort to boost tourism. Some estimates suggested the measure would increase arrivals by as much as 30 percent.

The extension hopes to target holiday periods of Lunar New Year and the Thai New Year national holiday, Songkran, which will take place in April, reported Bankok Post. Lunar New Year will see Taiwanese workers enjoy nine days off from Feb. 2 to Feb. 10.

Thailand’s Tourism and Sports Minister, Weerasak Kowsurat, said that the fee extension is expected to cost the government around 2.14 billion baht, but will generate around 24.34 billion baht in tourism revenue, reported The Nation of Thailand.

According to statistics cited by Taiwan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, around 600,000 Taiwanese visit Thailand every year, while 290,000 Thai traveled to Taiwan in 2017.

Citizens from the following countries are eligible for the fee waiver:

  • Andorra
  • Bulgaria
  • Bhutan
  • China
  • Cyprus
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • India
  • Kazakhstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Taiwan
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan