Taiwan's DPP votes for new party chairperson

By-election outcome to be announced on Jan. 9

Tsai Ing-wen votes for new DPP chairperson

Tsai Ing-wen votes for new DPP chairperson (By Central News Agency)

TAIPEI (Taiwan News) – Members of Taiwan’s Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) went to the polls on Jan. 6 to elect a new chairperson, reported CNA.

The by-election, which is expected to be voted on by 30-40 percent of the DPP’s 200,000 person member base, is likely to be interpreted as a vote on the leadership and future of the party.

Taiwan President Tsai Ing-wen (蔡英文) resigned as chairwoman of the DPP on the evening of the nine-in-one elections on Nov. 24, 2018, as it became clear that her party fared poorly in the polls.

The election will take place at 117 voting centers across Taiwan, where DPP heavyweights including Tsai, Premier William Lai (賴清德), and Presidential Office Secretary-General Chen Chu (陳菊) were photographed.

The by-election is contested by Secretary-General of the Executive Yuan, Cho Jung-tai (卓榮泰), and chairman of the Taiwan Public Opinion Foundation, You Ying-lung (游盈隆).

Cho, who is considered to be aligned with Tsai’s policies and approach, has broad management experience in government and was a Member of the Legislative Yuan between 1999 and 2004.

You, who is said to be supported by a DPP faction opposed to Tsai, held senior positions in academia as a political scientist, and also was the secretary general of the Straits Exchange Foundation between 2000 and 2008.

The result of the by-election will be announced to the public on Jan. 9.