• Directory of Taiwan

Sri Lanka wins toss, bowls in 2nd test vs. New Zealand

Sri Lanka wins toss, bowls in 2nd test vs. New Zealand

CHRISTCHURCH, New Zealand (AP) — Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bowl Wednesday in the second cricket test against New Zealand.

The two-match series remains tied after the first test at Wellington ended in a high-scoring draw.

The pitch at Hagley Park looks likely to offer more to bowlers than the docile strip at the Basin Reserve and Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal was happy to have the opportunity to bowl first.

Sri Lanka made two changes to its lineup, naming Roshen Silva at first drop in place of Dhananjaya de Silva and bringing in paceman Dushmantha Chameera in place of Kasun Rajitha. Chameera is expected to be able to exploit bounce on a pitch that looked to contain some moisture.

New Zealand named an unchanged side.


New Zealand: Tom Latham, Jeet Raval, Kane Williamson (captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling, Colin de Grandhomme, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Trent Boult.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne, Danushka Gunathilaka, Roshen Silva, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera.

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Pakistan, and Michael Gough, England.

Third Umpire: Rod Tucker, Australia. Match referee: Richie Richardson, West Indies.


More AP sports: and