• Directory of Taiwan

KMT suspends 4 government officials

KMT suspends 4 government officials

TAIPEI (Taiwan News) – The Kuomintang said Tuesday it had suspended the party membership rights of four members who joined the new administration of President Tsai Ing-wen, who chairs the Democratic Progressive Party.
The four were Foreign Minister David Lee, Defense Minister Feng Shih-kuan, Veterans Affairs Council Minister Lee Shying-jow and Presidential Secretary-General Lin Pi-chao, a KMT official said.
The new Cabinet, headed by Premier Lin Chuan, had been criticized by some as containing too many “blue” or former KMT government officials. On the other hand, some KMT members faulted the party leadership for failing to act against those members who had joined the DPP administration.
On Tuesday, the opposition party announced that the procedure to suspend the membership rights of the four had been completed, and that from now on, their actions inside the government had no longer anything to do with the KMT.
The decision to take action against the four was fully consistent with the principles of party politics and responsible politics, a spokesman said.
The new foreign minister is a veteran diplomat, while Feng and Lee Shying-chow have a military background.

Updated : 2021-05-07 23:40 GMT+08:00