• Directory of Taiwan

Leaders of Taiwan's Pacific allies to attend presidential inauguration

Leaders of Taiwan's Pacific allies to attend presidential inauguration

Taipei, March 29 (CNA) Leaders of Taiwan's diplomatic allies in the Pacific region are scheduled to attend the May 20 presidential inauguration, a foreign affairs official said Tuesday.

The leaders from Kiribati, Nauru, Palau, Tuvalu, the Marshall Islands and the Solomon Islands will lead delegations to attend the ceremony, said Elliot Charng , director-general of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs' Department of East Asian and Pacific Affairs, at a regular news briefing.

President-elect Tsai Ing-wen of the Democratic Progressive Party will become Taiwan's first female president when she is inaugurated, succeeding Ma Ying-jeou of the Kuomintang.

Leaders of the six allies to attend the ceremony are Marshall Islands President Hilda Heine; President of the Republic of Palau Tommy Remengesau, Jr.; President of Nauru Baron Waqa; Tuvalu Prime Minister Enele Sopoaga; Kiribati President Taneti Maamau; and Sir Frank Kabui, governor-general of the Solomon Islands, according to the ministry.

The six countries are among Taiwan's 22 diplomatic allies, half of which are in Central America and the Caribbean. (By Tang Pei-chun and Elaine Hou)

Updated : 2022-01-22 21:00 GMT+08:00