• Directory of Taiwan

eVisa opening to 27 countries kicks off Tuesday

eVisa opening to 27 countries kicks off Tuesday

eVisa opening to 27 countries kicks off Jan. 12

Taiwan’s eVisa program officially kicks off Tuesday, opening to nationals in 27 countries to apply for visa online, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced Tuesday.

Taiwan is the 24th country in the world to implement eVisa, which is expected to make Taiwan more attractive to foreign tourists and business people.

Luo Tien-hung, deputy director general of MOFA’s Bureau of Consular Affairs, told a press conference that the eVisa program was initiated to be in tune with the international trend of electronic travel documents and the policy to simplify procedures for foreign travelers coming to Taiwan.

The eVisa program will also further improve foreign countries’ visa treatment to Taiwan, Luo said.

The eVisa program, which is not applicable to nationals in Visa Waiver Program countries, provides travelers “one-stop-shop” online services, including filling out application forms, credit card payment, and issuance of proof of electronic visa, Luo said, adding that the program will save visa applicants time and money.

The fee for eVisa is NT$1,600 and the stay is 30 days with no extension.

The eVisa program will take effect in stages, with the first stage opening to applicants coming to Taiwan for business, tourism, short-term visits to relatives, and participation in international meetings, Luo said.

Eligible applicants are divided into four categories, with the first category being the original Visa on Arrival countries: Brunei, Turkey and Macedonia, Luo said.

The second category is the 21 allies (excluding Holy See): Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Burkina Faso, Sao Tome and Principe, Swaziland, Belize, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Christopher (Saint Kitts) and Nevis, St. Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

The third category applies to the countries in agreement to mutually improve visa treatment, which include Ecuador, Peru, and Colombia.

The fourth category applies to those coming to Taiwan to attend international meetings, sporting events or exhibitions and being eligible for “Landing Visa” regardless of their nationality.

Foreign nationals who need to apply for electronic visa can consult the Bureau of Consular Affairs website, the bureau said.

Updated : 2022-05-21 16:54 GMT+08:00