• Directory of Taiwan

New Zealand wins toss, bats vs Sri Lanka in 3rd ODI

New Zealand, leading series 2-0, wins toss, elects to bat vs Sri Lanka in 3rd ODI

New Zealand wins toss, bats vs Sri Lanka in 3rd ODI

NELSON, New Zealand (AP) -- New Zealand stand-in captain Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka in the third one-day cricket international at Saxton Oval on Thursday.

Williamson returns to the lineup after missing the first two matches with a knee injury, taking over the captaincy from Brendon McCullum, who has been forced out with an injured back.

New Zealand has a chance to clinch the five-match series after winning the first match by seven wickets and the second by 10 wickets.

Fast bowlers Tim Southee and Adam Milne also return, displacing legspinner Ish Sodhi and paceman Matt Henry.

Sri Lanka named fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep in place of spinner Sachithra Senanayake.

The crowd at Saxton Oval cheered loudly when Williamson won the toss. Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat in the first two matches, both of which ended quickly and left fans frustrated.

New Zealand took only 21 overs to surpass Sri Lanka's total of 188 in the first match, and 8.2 overs to overtake its 117 in the second.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews described the performances as "pathetic and embarrassing."



New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Luke Ronchi, Doug Bracewell, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (captain), Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, Jeffrey Vandersay.

Updated : 2021-12-04 15:39 GMT+08:00