Sri Lanka wins toss, bats in 1st ODI vs New Zealand

Sri Lanka wins toss, elects to bat in 1st ODI vs New Zealand

Sri Lanka wins toss, bats in 1st ODI vs New Zealand

CHRISTCHURCH, New Zealand (AP) -- Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat on Saturday in the first of five one-day internationals against New Zealand.

Captain Angelo Mathews described the pitch at Hagley Oval as "a belter" and said Sri Lanka's aim was to put runs on the board and put pressure on the home side.

Star batsman Kane Williamson was ruled out of the New Zealand lineup with a knee injury and was replaced by Tom Latham while batsman Henry Nicholls was named to make his international debut on his home ground.

Sri Lanka is without veteran fast bowler Lasith Malinga, also with a knee injury.

New Zealand chose to rest fast bowler Tim Southee for the first two matches of the series and his new-ball partner Trent Boult for the first three games.

Doug Bracewell returns to the New Zealand one-day lineup along with Adam Milne, Matt Henry and Mitchell McClenaghan.



New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Luke Ronchi, Doug Bracewell, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (captain), Milinda Siriwardana, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Ajantha Mendis, Suranga Lakmal.

Umpires: Michael Gough, England, and Phil Jones, New Zealand.

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth, England. Match referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.

Updated : 2021-03-04 01:27 GMT+08:00