• Directory of Taiwan

India opts to bat against South Africa in 2nd ODI

India elects to bat against South Africa in 2nd ODI of 5-game series

India opts to bat against South Africa in 2nd ODI

INDORE, India (AP) -- India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat against South Africa on Wednesday in the second one-day international of a five-game series.

South Africa, which won the first ODI at Kanpur by five runs, went in unchanged.

India made three changes, bringing in Axar Patel, Harbhajan Singh and Mohit Sharma for Amit Mishra, Stuart Binny and the injured Ravichandran Ashwin.

India, which lost the preceding three-game Twenty20 series 2-0, has won all its three previous ODIs at the Holkar Stadium.

The stadium has an average ODI team score of close to 300 with India's highest score of 418-5 recorded here against the West Indies four years ago.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Axar Patel, Harbhajan Singh, Mohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, A.B. de Villiers (captain), Faf du Plessis, Jean-Paul Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, David Miller, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel.

Updated : 2021-09-22 00:47 GMT+08:00