• Directory of Taiwan

England drops 8 players from its World Cup squad

England drops 8 players, including Chris Ashton, from its 2015 World Cup squad

England drops 8 players from its World Cup squad

LONDON (AP) -- Chris Ashton was among eight players eliminated from England's Rugby World Cup squad on Friday as coach Stuart Lancaster trimmed his side from 47 players to 39.

Matt Kvesic, George Kruis, Lee Dickson, Matt Mullan, Kyle Eastmond, Semesa Rokoduguni and Marland Yarde have also been cut.

The first of England's three warm-up encounters ahead of the tournament is on Aug. 15 against France at Twickenham.

The World Cup, held in England and Wales, starts Sept. 13.


England squad:

Dave Attwood, Brad Barritt, Kieran Brookes, Mike Brown, Sam Burgess, Luther Burrell, Danny Care, Danny Cipriani, Calum Clark, Dan Cole, Alex Corbisiero, Luke Cowan-Dickie, Nick Easter, Owen Farrell, George Ford, Jamie George, Alex Goode, James Haskell, Jonathan Joseph, George Kruis, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Joe Marler, Jonny May, Ben Morgan, Jack Nowell, Geoff Parling, Chris Robshaw, Henry Slade, Billy Twelvetrees, Mako Vunipola, Billy Vunipola, Anthony Watson, Rob Webber, Richard Wigglesworth, David Wilson, Tom Wood, Ben Youngs, Tom Youngs.

Updated : 2021-09-18 22:57 GMT+08:00