Alexa

Neymar denies insulting referee after Copa America game

Neymar denies he insulted ref in tunnel after red card against Colombia in Copa America

Neymar denies insulting referee after Copa America game

SANTIAGO, Chile (AP) -- Brazil captain Neymar says he never offended the referee after being shown a red card in the Copa America game against Colombia, calling the incident a mix-up.

Neymar received a four-game suspension because of what happened in the group game last week.

CONMEBOL said Neymar was issued a strong sanction because he grabbed the referee by the arms and insulted him in the tunnel to the changing rooms.

But Neymar said "almost nothing happened" in the tunnel. He was there to ask the referee why he was sent off, he said, but then claimed that a commotion started after people thought he was going to do something else to the referee.


Updated : 2021-01-19 11:32 GMT+08:00