• Directory of Taiwan

DPP leaders in Nantou, Kaohsiung races are Tsai, Liu

DPP leaders in Nantou, Kaohsiung races are Tsai, Liu

On Tuesday the DPP released the results of its third wave of telephone polls to determine who will represent the party in next January’s Legislative Yuan elections. The Monday-night poll covered the Second Constituency in Nantou, which includes Nantou City, Ming-jian Township, Jiji Township, Zhushan Village, Shui-li Township and Xinyi Township, as well as the Third Constituency in Kaohsiung, which includes the Nanzi and Zuoying districts of the city. The final results showed that the leading candidate in the 2nd Constituency is Tsai Huang-lang while the leader in the 3rd Constituency was former Kaohsiung Deputy Mayor Liu Shih-fang.

Tsai outdistanced Nantou County Councilor Lai Yan-hsueh by 30.87% to 23.69% with 34.05% expressing no preference, In Kaohsiung, Liu edged past Kaohsiung City Councilor Lin Ying-rong with 34.64% of those polled versus 31.32%, with 34.05% expressing no preference.

In Kaohsiung the Qianjhen District of the city has long been considered a stronghold of support for Kaohsiung Mayor Chen Chu, and Liu’s slim victory in the Nanzi-Zuoying constituency shows that the mayor’s sway appears to be working its way into that area as well.

Updated : 2021-09-21 07:48 GMT+08:00