• Directory of Taiwan

World Cup: India wins toss, bowls first vs. Zimbabwe

World Cup: India wins toss, bowls first in Pool B match vs. Zimbabwe

World Cup: India wins toss, bowls first vs. Zimbabwe

AUCKLAND, New Zealand (AP) -- India captain M.S. Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl Saturday in the Cricket World Cup Pool B match against Zimbabwe at Eden Park.

Dhoni's Zimbabwe counterpart, Brendan Taylor, will be playing his 167th and final one-day international for Zimbabwe after announcing he will join the English county team Nottinghamshire on a three-year contract after the World Cup. Though only 29, he says he will not play international cricket again.

"It's an incredible feeling, a very emotional day for me and we will try to get a big win for Zimbabwe," Taylor said.

Zimbabwe is also making its final appearance at this World Cup, having won only one of its five previous matches to miss out on the quarterfinals.

India is unbeaten in pool play and will face Bangladesh in the quarterfinals on Thursday.

Both teams named unchanged lineups.



India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, M.S. Dhoni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Solomon Mire, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (captain), Sean Williams, Craig Ervine, Regis Chakabva, Tawanda Mupariwa, Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara.

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney, New Zealand, and Bruce Oxenford, Australia.

TV umpire: Rod Tucker, Australia. Match referee: Roshan Mahanama, Sri Lanka

Updated : 2021-09-21 18:55 GMT+08:00