• Directory of Taiwan

New Zealand wins toss, bats in 2nd ODI vs. Pakistan

New Zealand wins toss, chooses to bat in 2nd ODI vs. Paksitan

New Zealand wins toss, bats in 2nd ODI vs. Pakistan

NAPIER, New Zealand (AP) -- New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and elected to bat Tuesday in the second limited-overs cricket international against Pakistan at McLean Park.

The match is the last official one-day international for both teams before the Cricket World Cup begins on Feb. 14, although both will play informal warmup matches against World Cup opponents.

New Zealand has made four changes to its lineup for the match, playing spinners Daniel Vettori and Nathan McCullum and resting seamers Kyle Mills and Mitchell McClenaghan. Kane Williamson returns after missing the first match with shoulder soreness while Corey Anderson and Tom Latham are rested.

Pakistan has named an unchanged lineup.

New Zealand won the first match of the two-match series at Wellington by seven wickets.



New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Luke Ronchi, Daniel Vettori, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Adam Milne.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Safraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Bilawal Bhatti, Ehsan Adil, Mohammad Irfan.

Umpires: Rod Tucker, Australia, and Derek Walker, New Zealand.

TV umpire: Michael Gough, England. Match referee: Javagal Srinath, India.

Updated : 2021-09-21 10:23 GMT+08:00