• Directory of Taiwan

5 former winners in Boston Marathon elite field

5 former winners lead 36-member international elite field for 119th Boston Marathon

5 former winners in Boston Marathon elite field

BOSTON (AP) -- Five former winners have committed to run this year's Boston Marathon.

Principal sponsor John Hancock Financial announced Tuesday that 2013 men's winner Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia and 2012 winner Wesley Korir of Kenya will join a field that includes defending champion Meb Keflezighi, the first American man to win since 1983.

On the women's side, 2012 winner Sharon Cherop and 2011 winner Caroline Kilel, both of Kenya, lead the elite field.

The men's field also includes last year's second- and third-place finishers, Wilson Chebet and Frankline Chepkwony.

The women's field is the fastest in Boston Marathon history, with 10 participants holding personal best times under 2:23, and includes Americans Shalane Flanagan, Desiree Davila Linden and Amy Hastings.

The 119th running of the Boston Marathon is April 20.

Updated : 2021-09-29 09:02 GMT+08:00