• Directory of Taiwan

Sri Lanka wins toss, bats in 1st ODI vs. New Zealand

Sri Lanka wins toss, chooses to bat in 1st ODI vs. New Zealand

Sri Lanka wins toss, bats in 1st ODI vs. New Zealand

CHRISTCHURCH, New Zealand (AP) -- Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat against New Zealand in the first one-day international at Hagley Oval on Sunday.

The match is the first of seven one-dayers between teams who will meet in the opening match of the Cricket World Cup on the same ground in 34 days.

Sri Lanka, which lost the recent test series 2-0, named a powerful lineup including returning one-day specialists Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Jeevan Mendis and Nuwan Kulasekara.

Kyle Mills, Ross Taylor and Daniel Vettori were rested by New Zealand, which chose a pace attack comprising of Trent Boult, Adam Milne and Mitchell McClenaghan.

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum, who will open the batting after playing in the middle order in the test series, said the series was crucial to give his team momentum entering the World Cup.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews said his side was well prepared for the change from test to 50-overs matches.

"We've been playing pretty good one-day cricket in the recent past, and we just have to try to play positive cricket, be aggressive, and try to win," Mathews said.



New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Tom Latham, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan, Trent Boult.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Nuwan Kulasekara, Shaminda Eranga.

Updated : 2021-09-22 08:23 GMT+08:00