81 to leave Cabinet in massive shakeup Monday

Executive Yuan spokesman Sun Lih-Chyun said Sunday that a total of 81 members of the Cabinet would resign on Monday following the KMT’s flogging at the hands of opposition and independent candidates in Saturday’s elections. The list of officials stepping down starts with Premier Jiang Yi-huah, who has already announced his intention to resign, and includes Vice Premier Mao Chih-kuo, Executive Yuan Secretary-General Lee Si-chuan and a number of various ministers and deputy ministers throughout the administration.

With the mass resignations the Executive Yuan will go into a "caretaker" mode of operations with administrative affairs functioning as usual, but no major policy decisions until President Ma Ying-jeou can announce a new slate of officials.

Names mentioned as possible replacements for Jiang Yi-huah as Premier include current Vice Premier Mao Chih-kuo, Taipei Mayor Hau Lung-bin and Legislative Yuan Speaker Wang Jin-pyng or even Jason Hu, who lost out in the race for mayor of Taichung City on Saturday.