Golden Horse Awards to take place Saturday

Taipei, Nov. 19 (CNA) Taipei is gearing up for the 51st Golden Horse Awards ceremony Saturday, when the prestigious awards for Chinese-language films will announce the winners from among 38 films, including 14 Taiwan-made ones, in 21 categories.
Leading the pack this year is Chinese director Diao Yinan's thriller "Black Coal, Thin Ice."It has received eight nominations including best feature film, best director, and best lead actor and actress.
Chinese veteran actor Chen Jianbin is another major contender, having scored four personal nominations ranging from filmmaking to acting categories.
Chen was nominated for best lead actor, best new director and best adapted screenplay for the Chinese village drama "A Fool," as well as best supporting actor for Taiwanese military drama "Paradise in Service." His directorial debut, "A Fool" was also nominated for best feature film and best supporting actor.
The film with the second-highest number of nominations is Chinese director Lou Ye's drama "Blind Massage" with seven nods.
Tying for third place are Taiwanese director Umin Boya's baseball epic "Kano," Taiwanese director Doze Niu's "Paradise in Service" and Hong Kong director Benny Chan's crime thriller "The White Storm," each of which have scored six nominations.
This year's Golden Horse Awards is chaired by Chinese American actress Joan Chen, a multiple Golden Horse winner.
Chen is scheduled to present the best feature film award, the night's biggest, alongside Sylvia Chang, chair of the Taipei Golden Horse Film Festival Executive Committee.
Internationally renowned Chinese actress Gong Li, meanwhile, will team up with iconic Taiwanese director Hou Hsiao-hsien to hand out the best director award.
Other high-profile presenters are Chinese actress Zhang Ziyi, who was last year's best lead actress, and Hong Kong actor-singer Aaron Kwok, who will jointly present the award for best lead actor.
Last year's best lead actor Lee Kang-sheng of Taiwan and Hong Kong filmmaker Ann Hui will jointly hand out the best lead actress award. The ceremony will take place at the National Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall. It will be hosted by TV host Mickey Huang and pop singer Ella Chen, the "E" of pop trio S.H.E.
Taiwan Television Enterprise (TTV) will broadcast the event live. A red carpet event will begin from 5:30 p.m., followed by the ceremony at 7 p.m. (By Christie Chen)