• Directory of Taiwan

Australia wins toss, to bat first in 1st ODI

Australia wins toss, elects to bat first against Pakistan in 1st ODI

Australia wins toss, to bat first in 1st ODI

SHARJAH, United Arab Emirates (AP) -- Australia captain George Bailey won the toss and elected to bat first against Pakistan in the first one-day international on Tuesday.

Australia, which has not lost a one-day series against Pakistan since losing 2-1 at home in 2002, awarded a debut to 22-year-old New South Wales medium fast bowler Sean Abbott.

Left-arm fast bowler Mitchell Johnson was declared fit after a rib injury, which caused him to miss the six-wicket victory in the one-off Twenty20 last Sunday.

Pakistan brought in left-arm spinner Zulfiqar Babar to make up for the loss of frontline offspinners Saeed Ajmal and Mohammad Hafeez. Babar will make his ODI debut after appearing in two tests and seven T20s for Pakistan.

The ICC has suspended Ajmal for an illegal bowling action, and the offspinner is undergoing rehabilitation back home.

Hafeez was ruled out of the three-match series after injuring his left hand during a practice match last week.



Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Anwar Ali, Wahab Riaz, Zulfiqar Babar, Mohammad Irfan.

Australia: George Bailey (captain), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner, Brad Haddin, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Johnson, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon.

Updated : 2021-07-26 04:15 GMT+08:00