England wins toss; bats 1st vs India in 3rd test

England captain Alastair Cook wins toss and chooses to bat first in 3rd test vs India

England wins toss; bats 1st vs India in 3rd test

SOUTHAMPTON, England (AP) -- England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to bat first in the third test against India at the Rose Bowl Sunday.

England made three changes to the side that lost the second test at Lord's by 95 runs. Jos Buttler replaces Matt Prior as wicketkeeper, while Chris Woakes and Chris Jordan replace Liam Plunkett and Ben Stokes in England's attack.

India, which leads the series 1-0, has made two changes. Rohit Shamra and Pankaj Singh replace Stuart Binny and the injured Ishant Sharma.


England: Alastair Cook, Sam Robson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Joss Buttler, Chris Jordan, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

India: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Rohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Pankaj Singh.

Updated : 2021-04-14 05:08 GMT+08:00