Alexa

Simeone won't rule Costa out of Champions final

Atletico coach Simeone refuses to rule Diego Costa out of Champions League final

Atletico's Diego Costa, center, gestures after being injured during a Spanish La Liga soccer match between FC Barcelona and Atletico Madrid at the Cam...
Atletico's Diego Costa, left covers his face after leaving the field injured during a Spanish La Liga soccer match between FC Barcelona and Atletico M...
Atletico's Diego Costa lies injured on the pitch during a Spanish La Liga soccer match between FC Barcelona and Atletico Madrid at the Camp Nou stadiu...

Spain Soccer La Liga

Atletico's Diego Costa, center, gestures after being injured during a Spanish La Liga soccer match between FC Barcelona and Atletico Madrid at the Cam...

Spain Soccer La Liga

Atletico's Diego Costa, left covers his face after leaving the field injured during a Spanish La Liga soccer match between FC Barcelona and Atletico M...

Spain Soccer La Liga

Atletico's Diego Costa lies injured on the pitch during a Spanish La Liga soccer match between FC Barcelona and Atletico Madrid at the Camp Nou stadiu...

MADRID (AP) -- Atletico Madrid coach Diego Simeone says it's still too early to rule Diego Costa out of the Champions League final despite striker's chances of playing looking slim.

Costa limped off early in Saturday's 1-1 draw at Barcelona that clinched Atletico's first Spanish league title in 18 years, and the club said Monday he had suffered a right hamstring injury that will be evaluated day-to-day.

Atletico plays city rival Real Madrid in the final in Lisbon on Saturday. Simeone said "the week has just started, there are still some days until we have to decide. It's still early."

Atletico would ensure the greatest season in club history with a victory in Lisbon on Saturday, when it returns to a European Cup final for just the second time and first in 40 years.


Updated : 2021-04-18 16:38 GMT+08:00