World Golf Glance

World Golf Glance



Site: Honolulu.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Waialae Country Club (7,044 yards, 6,441 meters, par 70).

Purse: $5.6 million. Winner's share: $1,008,000.

Last year: Russell Henley became the first player in 10 years to win in his debut as a US PGA Tour rookie. He broke the tournament record at 24-under 256, the second-lowest score for a 72-hole event in tour history.

Last event: Zach Johnson won the Tournament of Champions at Kapalua for his second straight victory and third in his last six starts. Jordan Spieth was second, a stroke back. Johnson closed last year with a playoff victory over Tiger Woods in the World Challenge.

Notes: Masters champion Adam Scott is in the field along with Johnson, Spieth, Henley, US PGA Championship winner Jason Dufner and Matt Kuchar. ... Guan Tianlang, the 15-year-old Chinese amateur who made the cut last year in the Masters, received a sponsor exemption. ... Champions Tour players Kenny Perry, Vijay Singh and Fred Funk also are playing. The 50-and-over tour opens play next week at Hualalai with the Mitsubishi Electric Championship. ... The Humana Challenge is next week in La Quinta, California, followed by the Farmers Insurance Open at Torrey Pines in San Diego and the Phoenix Open. Woods will open the year with his title defense at Torrey Pines.

US PGA Tour site:




Site: Durban, South Africa.

Schedule: Thursday-Sunday.

Course: Durban Country Club (6,689 yards, 6,117 meters, par 72).

Purse: $4 million. Winner's share: $700,000.

Last year: South Africa's Louis Oosthuizen rallied to beat Scotland's Scott Jamieson by a stroke.

Last event: South Africa's Dawie van der Walt won the rain-shortened Nelson Mandela Championship on Dec. 14 in Durban at Mount Edgecombe.

Notes: Oosthuizen tops the 36-player field along with fellow South African stars Branden Grace, the 2012 winner, and Charl Schwartzel, Spain's Miguel Angel Jimenez, Denmark's Thomas Bjorn, American Peter Uihlein and England's Paul Casey. ... The event is limited to tournament winners last season and the start of this season, past champions (Grace) and players under 50 with 10 career European Tour victories (Colin Montgomerie, Jose Maria Olazabal, Padraig Harrington, Darren Clarke and Robert Karlsson). The Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship is next week, followed by the Qatar Masters and Dubai Desert Classic.

European Tour site:

Sunshine Tour site:

Updated : 2021-04-12 12:54 GMT+08:00