England win toss, elect to bowl in 2nd ODI

England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and chose to bowl on Wednesday in the second limited-overs international against New Zealand at McLean Park.
New Zealand, which leads the three-match series 1-0, made three changes to its lineup for the match, two enforced by injuries. Opening batsman Hamish Rutherford was selected to make his one-day international debut, replacing Martin Guptill who has a hamstring injury. Tim Southee was recalled in place of Mitchell McClenaghan, who has a side strain, and Trent Boult replaced allrounder Andrew Ellis.
England named the same side that lost the first match at Hamilton by three wickets.
"It looks a very good wicket but with the new rules and the short boundaries here it's quite hard to defend," Cook said. "So, hopefully we can restrict New Zealand ... and try to knock them off.
"I think we were just a little bit off in all aspects in Hamilton. I think we've recognized that but we weren't all that far off from winning."
New Zealand is hoping to follow its 2-1 win over South Africa in an ODI series late last year with a win over England that would substantially improve its world ranking of No. 8.
"We would have bowled first for the same reasons Alastair just mentioned," captain Brendon McCullum said. "It's always a good wicket here and if we do it right up front we give ourselves an opportunity to try and maximize those closing overs. Hopefully we get ourselves a good score and we can be desperate in the field later on."
New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), B.J. Watling, Trent Boult, Hamish Rutherford, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills.
England: Alastair Cook (captain), Ian Bell, Jonathon Trott, Joe Root, Eion Morgan, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broard, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Steven Finn.
Umpires: Chris Gaffaney, New Zealand, and Rod Tucker, Australia
TV Umpire: Ravi Sundaram, India. Match referee: Roshan Mahanama, Sri Lanka.