Alexa

Ground staff strike disrupts Berlin flights

Ground staff strike disrupts Berlin flights

Airport officials say a walkout by ground staff at Berlin's two airports has forced 32 flights to be canceled and may continue to disrupt some traffic throughout the day.
The ver.di union called employees of three ground service companies to walk off their jobs between 4 a.m. (0200 GMT, 10 p.m. EDT Wednesday) and 10 a.m. (0800 GMT, 4 a.m. EDT) Thursday in an effort to revive stalled wage talks.
Ralf Kunkel, a spokesman for Berlin airports, said fallout from the strike was "milder than expected" and that things would likely return to normal within the course of the day.


Updated : 2021-03-06 20:08 GMT+08:00