• Directory of Taiwan

Taiwan Ex-Premier Su Tseng-chang to run for Taipei City Mayor: Reports

Su to launch challenge to KMT Mayor Hau Lung-bin at temple Wednesday

Taiwan Ex-Premier Su Tseng-chang to run for Taipei City Mayor: Reports

TAIPEI (Taiwan News) – Former Premier Su Tseng-chang is to announce a bid for mayor of Taipei City at a temple, cable station TVBS reported Tuesday.
If true, the announcement will end days of frenzied speculation about the popular politician’s next move. Su had a meeting with opposition Democratic Progressive Party Chairwoman Tsai Ing-wen Tuesday to discuss his choice, reports said.
For months, Su was listed by the media as the party’s top candidate to run for the post of mayor in newly upgraded Taipei County, to be renamed Xinbei or New Taipei City at the end of this year. The popular politician led in most opinion polls against the candidates the ruling Kuomintang might put up after incumbent county magistrate Chou Hsi-wei decided not to run.
A string of recent DPP successes in local and legislative by-elections led to reports that Su might consider the more difficult Taipei City mayoral election instead. In addition, the former premier is also considered a frontrunner to represent the DPP in the 2012 presidential election.
TVBS reported later that Su would announce his bid at the Bao’an Temple in Taipei City Wednesday morning at 11 o’clock.
Incumbent KMT mayor Hau Lung-bin is likely to seek re-election for a second and final term. He has told reporters he is ready to face a challenge from Su.
DPP candidates for the city councils in both Taipei and Xinbei have been voicing their support for the popular ex-premier with his trademark bald pate – often compared to a light bulb by Su himself and by supporters – to run in their own constituency. Party activists showed up outside his home Tuesday with banners calling for him to choose the capital.
If Su does choose Taipei City as reports indicate, the DPP will be faced with a range of candidates to make its selection from for Xinbei City. The list includes party chairwoman Tsai, former Premier Yu Shyi-kun and DPP Secretary-General Su Jia-chyuan.